Centre for Air Power Studies (CAPS)

header photo


Air Marshal KK Nohwar PVSM VM (Retd)
Director General, CAPS



Air Vice Marshal Manmohan Bahadur VM (Retd)
Additional Director General, CAPS

Centre for Air Power Studies (CAPS) was established in 2001 as an autonomous defence research and analysis body for research and focused analyses on issues related to national security, defence, and aerospace issues in the evolving strategic and international security environment. Its objective is to facilitate greater understanding of these issues amongst the Armed Forces, the strategic community and the public besides contributing to policy generation and decision-making.

CAPS is governed by a Trust, named Forum for National Security Studies, an independent non-profit, non governmental body. The Board of Trustees which guides the activities of CAPS, is headed by Shri MK Rasgotra, former Foreign Secretary as Chairman, Capt. Ajay Singh, Vice President (Ops) Jet Lite Airways, and former Deputy Director Air Defence, IAF as managing Trustee and comprises Shri NN Vohra, former Defence and Home Secretary, Air Chief Marshal SP Tyagi, former Chief of Air Staff, Shri Sanjaya Baru Editor–in–Chief Business Standard and former Press Advisor to the Prime Minister, and Director General of CAPS Air Marshal KK Nohwar.

CAPS has a multidisciplinary faculty with rich expertise in security and defence fields, who undertake quality research work in analysing the complex multi – dimensional trends in warfare, with special focus on air and space power, its deployment for civil and military purposes, doctrines and strategies, and non-traditional security issues of environment, energy security and military history. 

CAPS research faculty comprises senior retired and serving Armed Forces officers from the three services besides academic scholars from national universities and retired members from the diplomatic community. CAPS also conducts brief orientation capsules for Armed Forces and officers of security and technological organisations.


Centre for Air Power Studies



Air Chief Marshal SP Tyagi PVSM, AVSM, VM (Retd), Former Chief of Air Staff


Shri G. Parthasarathy, IFS, Former Ambassador

Shri Vinod K. Mishra, Former Secretary Defence (Finance)

Rear Admiral R. B. Vohra VSM (Retd.)

Air Vice Marshal Manmohan Bahadur VM (Retd)

Member Secretary: Air Marshal KK Nohwar PVSM VM (Retd)
Director General, CAPS


Air Chief Marshal SP Tyagi PVSM, AVSM, VM (Retd), Former Chief of Air Staff


Air Chief Marshal Rakesh Kumar Singh Bhadauria PVSM AVSM VM ADC
Chief of the Air Staff (Ex- Officio)

Dr. Sanjaya Baru, Senior Research Professor, CPR, Director for Geo-Economics and Strategy, International Institute of Strategic Studies (IISS), former editor in Chief of Business Standard and former Media Adviser to PM

Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora AVSM ADC
Vice Chief of the Air Staff  (Ex- Officio)

Prof. Satish Kumar, Editor, National Security Review

Dr. C. G. Krishnadas Nair, President, SIATI, former Chairman HAL

Prof. Ashok Parthasarathy, Former Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India

Shri. G.Parthasarathy, IFS, former High Commissioner to Pakistan,  Australia

Gen. V. N. Sharma, PVSM, former Chief of Army Staff

H.E. Shri N.N.Vohra, Former Governor J&K, Former Principal Secretary to the PM, Former Defence Secretary, Former Home Secretary (On Leave)